Gutsy, Gentle Giants

FullSizeRender (44)

“For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes…”

                                                                                                                     Romans 1:16 ESV

 

I lay in bed, tossing and turning, trying to fall asleep because I know I have a busy day ahead of me tomorrow.  I glance at the clock displaying the bright numbers of 12:17 AM, way past time for me to be asleep.  I sigh as I roll over onto my other side, hoping to get comfortable so I can drift off to sweet slumber.

Suddenly, I hear the muffled pounding of footsteps on the stairs outside my bedroom.  With their size 14 feet, the gentle giants have made their way down the steps to the kitchen for a midnight snack.  My son and his teenage friends rumble cereal boxes and crunch wrappers off of microwave pizzas.  They do their best to be quiet but fail miserably. Cabinet doors slam, the refrigerator door clangs, and the microwave bell dings.  Snickers and laughter erupt as the teens realize they aren’t successful on their mission of silent food retrieval.  Finally, they clamber up the steps, carrying a heavy load of munchies back to their hideout in the bonus room.

The gentle giants remind me of how I want to live out my faith in day to day life.  No matter how hard they try, the teens absolutely cannot be quiet.  They cannot disguise their noisy task of obtaining snacks.  Oh, how I wish I had that boldness and audacity in my own witness for God.  I wish that my voice and actions that profess my love and faithfulness to Jesus Christ could not be hushed. How many lives could be changed for the better, for eternity, for God’s glory, if I were as courageous as those teenagers?

The Bible calls us to boldness as we are assured that the Gospel is for anyone and everyone who believes.  It is our privilege to be confident in our salvation that God graciously provides us through the blood of His Son.  But it is also our privilege and duty to share this wonderful news with others, to be unashamed of what God has done in our lives.

What does that boldness look like in everyday life?  It could mean that I choose to use words of kindness instead of impatience when I have to wait 20 minutes for my turkey sandwich because the cashier messed up my order.  It may take on the form of using Facebook as a tool for promoting positivity and love instead of comparison and slander.  Or it may shape up to be gaining confidence and dependence on God to start a new Bible study that encourages women in your community.  God provides us countless opportunities to share our faith with those around us.  It is just up to us to take the leap of faith to be a gutsy “gentle giant” for the Lord.

How can you live out the Scriptures in your life by being unashamed of the Gospel?

Do you know someone who needs to hear your testimony of the power of God at work in your life?

Be bold today, assuring that your voice of witness will not be quieted.

“Heavenly Father, thank you for loving me and providing me with salvation that clutches me from hell’s grasp.  Give me courage and assurance so that I live boldly and blameless, pointing others to Your never-ending love.  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.”

Have a wonderful, blessed week,

Alisha Ritchie

Leave a Reply

