Where Are You, Lord?

img_0309

“For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous, and His ears are open to their prayer…”

                                                                                                                                                          1 Peter 3:12 ESV

     I have the opportunity of spending quite a bit of time in my vehicle while traveling from one patient’s house to another’s for physical therapy treatments. Sometimes this is a blessing and sometimes it’s a nuisance. But most days I enjoy the scenic views and country drives down winding roads and it offers me a chance to spend a lot of alone time with God. I usually listen to my favorite Christian music station and find myself praying about many different things along the way.

However, last week, on one of my drives, I was so frustrated about a situation I had been praying about for a long while. It seemed to me that God was silent. I began to wonder, Do you even hear me at all, Lord? Why aren’t you answering me?

In my despair, I even began to doubt God’s love for me. Surely He wouldn’t be quiet and let me suffer in agony over this situation. I just need to hear His voice.  Where are you, Lord? I silently petitioned the Lord to hear my favorite song, Stars, by Skillet as a means of encouragement. It is beautiful in every way, from the words vocalized to the music played by the instruments as it stirs my soul every time I hear it.

And then suddenly, the DJ stopped talking on the radio, and the familiar music serenaded me from the speakers in my SUV. My favorite song was playing on the radio, just as I had asked the Lord only seconds before! A wave of emotion overtook me as goosebumps crept up on every inch of my body and my eyes filled with blurry tears. For me, in that moment, God spoke to me through that song by saying, “I’m here with you and I hear every word you say. Don’t doubt that I love you and that I’m listening.”

As the music continued and I drove on, I had a worship experience like none that I had ever experienced before. I thanked God right then and there for the blessings of His presence and for “speaking” to me, for His reassurance that He is always listening, even when I’m not aware. I praised Him for loving me, even when I’m selfish and doubt His love for me.

I wanted to share this little story with you because you may also be going through a time when you feel like God is silent. Is there something that you have prayed for diligently for a long time but haven’t felt the Lord has answered you? Or perhaps you are looking for guidance for His will for your life and don’t feel you have clear instruction from Him? Are you wondering where the Lord is today? Don’t lose heart and don’t give up praying. He hears you when you talk to Him.

Every word.

Every cry.

Every whisper.

Cling to these verses as I have done to help remind you that He is present, He is listening, and He is in control.

“And whatever you ask in prayer, you will receive, if you have faith.”     Matthew 21:22 ESV

“Casting all your anxieties on Him, because He cares for you.”                    1 Peter 5:7 ESV

“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.”                                                                                                                        Matthew 7:7 ESV

“And this is the confidence that we have toward Him, that if we ask anything according to His will He hears us.”                                                                                                      1 John 5:14 ESV

“I cried to Him with my mouth, and high praise was on my tongue. If I had cherished iniquity in my heart, the Lord would not have listened. But truly God has listened, He has attended to the voice of my prayer. Blessed be God, because He has not rejected my prayer or removed His steadfast love from me!                                                Psalm 66:17-20 ESV

“For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous, and His ears are open to their prayer…”

1 Peter 3:12 ESV

Keep being faithful in your prayers. God is faithful in listening and answering, in His time.

Take care and hope you have a blessed week,

Alisha Ritchie

Leave a Reply

