Daily Dose of Sunshine

 

fullsizerender-31

Christ will give you light.                                               Ephesians 5:14 NKJV

Lately it seems I’ve been walking around with a cloud of negativity surrounding my soul. From the outside, you might not be able to detect it. But if you could peer into the windows of my heart, you would see that secretly on the inside, I have been slowly deteriorating from the effects of pessimistic thoughts that have taken root like a nasty weed.

It’s not that wonderful things aren’t happening in my life. I have a fabulous family-healthy, happy children, a loving husband. My job and writing are going well. Nothing unusually bad has happened, just the usual stresses of day to day life which we all incur in our fast-paced lives.

So why do I feel like there is a cloud hovering over me? Am I depressed? No. Is there something going on that I’m not aware of? No.

I had searched my brain to find answers to my questions but nothing seemed to stick out, I just knew something wasn’t quite right. Everywhere I turned, I was plagued with negative thoughts and they were really weighing me down. I tried to pray about it but it seemed that I would always get distracted or my mind would flood full of thoughts of my to-do list. God gave me little clues along the way but I was always too stubborn or busy to listen.

Until one day I stumbled across the verse from Ephesians in my devotional book that read, Christ will give you light. It was if God finally got my attention and the “lightbulb” went off in my head. In all of my busyness doing “good” things, such as writing, planning a women’s conference, spending time with and serving my family, working with patients, etc., I had slacked off on the most important thing, spending time alone with my Heavenly Father.  I had sacrificed the one most important relationship in my life because I’ve been busy doing other things. While all those other tasks are good, they aren’t the best thing for me. I need my daily dose of sunshine or light from God in the form of spending time with Him in His Word.

For me, spending time in prayer and reading the Bible daily is the light that I need from God. It is the inspiration and encouragement to be a witness, to carry on, to have hope when things are tough.  If I neglect that time or cut it short, everything else is off balance. No wonder I felt like something wasn’t right, because it wasn’t! I need my alone time with the Lord to help ward off those dark clouds that threaten to overtake me. Only His light brings peace, warmth, and positivity into my soul.

What about you? Maybe you are struggling with some of those same feelings today that I recently struggled with. Perhaps you have become distracted with the chaotic, busyness of life and have fallen short in your quiet time with God. You may feel in a dark place right now because of a broken relationship or a horrible sickness that a loved one is going through. Or maybe you don’t have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ and don’t have assurance of His light at all. Jesus can illuminate your life in all of these situations. His radiance can bring healing to all the hurt tucked away in your heart, even in the darkest of darkest places.

Let today be the day you make a change in your life. If you’ve neglected your devotional time with the Lord, pray about it, ask forgiveness, and seek ways to slow down and protect your quality time with God. Remind yourself that doing good things are wonderful but spending time with God is an investment that is never wasted.

If you are going through tough times due to brokenness in your life, I would love the chance to pray for you. You can connect with me on my blog or through Facebook/Messenger. Remember that Jesus gives hope for even the darkest situations and that you are loved.

And finally, if you don’t know Jesus personally, I would consider it an honor to discuss what it means to have a relationship with Christ. Please contact me through my blog or Facebook/Messenger. There is no greater decision than that to follow Christ. Then you will also see just how important God’s daily dose of sunshine is to you as well!

Blessings to you,

Alisha Ritchie

 

Leave a Reply

