Unlikely Encounter

fullsizerender-29

“The Lord says, ‘I will guide you along the best pathway for your life. I will advise you and watch over you.’”                                                                                                   Psalm 32:8 NLT

The most interesting thing happened to me while driving to my physical therapy patient’s house today. As I drove along the winding country roads, I spotted two large dogs standing in the middle of my lane, blocking it so that I couldn’t pass.  I honked my horn and waited for them to move out of the way to the shoulder of the road. A few minutes later, I was greeted by a couple of goats who were crossing the road. When they sensed I was approaching, they picked up speed. I never knew goats could run so fast! A few minutes later, a black pig trotted across the road in front of my vehicle. I have always loved pigs so this was a real treat for me-definitely not something I see every day.

However, I thought it was odd that these animals crossed my path today. In just a matter of minutes, I had encountered a variety of different types of animals.  I can’t help but think that life is like a lot like this, too. We just never know who or what we are going to encounter around the curve of this crazy, adventurous life.

As we start 2017, surely we must think about the paths that lie ahead of us. We may have obstacles that will be put in our paths, like the dogs in the road who just don’t seem to want to move, that will make us stop and wait. No one likes to be told to be patient but sometimes that is exactly what God will tell us to do. Maybe we are waiting on a promotion at work. Or maybe we are waiting on clarification for the Lord’s calling on our lives. Perhaps we are seeking healing of our broken relationships. Maybe we are waiting to step out in faith to start a new ministry at church. It is all about God’s timing and His perfect will for our lives. Obstacles in the road are for our protection and benefit, although it is tough to realize at the time.

Maybe some of the paths that lie ahead of us in 2017 will be filled with excitement of new things, like goats and pigs running past us on our drives to work, as we chase our dreams like never before.  Perhaps we will pursue new journeys lead by God. We may go on mission trips to foreign countries to share the love of Christ with others. We may take up new hobbies or make new friends. We might decide to finally get healthy and exercise. Or we might even decide to chase that lifelong dream of writing a book. The possibilities are endless when lead and ordained by God.

Whatever path lies before you in 2017, find encouragement that God is with you every step of the way. He is there to provide love, support, and guidance. Even when it seems He is silent, continue to lean on Him, and He will not fail you. How awesome to know that He is watching over each one of us and cares enough to guide us in the right direction.

My prayer for you and your family is that your year will be blessed with much love and happiness but most of all, no matter what path lies ahead of you, you will grow closer to God, depending on Him like never before.

Blessings,

Alisha

Leave a Reply

