Sinking

Right now, I know of several individuals and families that are going through hard times. They are struggling, as you might be today as well. I hope this devotion, written several years ago, but still very applicable today, will encourage you to keep your eyes focused on Jesus, the only One who can truly help you. If your eyes are fixated on Him, it will be hard for you to dwell on yourself and your circumstances. I know this is easier said than done, but friend, be inspired that God will help you along the way.

“…fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”                                                                                                                                                                                 Hebrews 12:2 NIV

Splash.  In the blink of an eye, she was in the water.   My three-year-old daughter sank into the depth of our friend’s pool right before me.  She thought it was a good idea to mischievously remove her water wings and plop into the pool.  Her body and face were completely engulfed by the water but her eyes were fixed on me… wide open, no blinking, completely focused on the only one who could save her.

I was able to save her quickly, but replaying that terrifying event always brings one thing vividly back to mind.  I will always remember the image of Abby’s face.  Her big brown eyes were focused on me.

Pleading.

To help her.

To save her.

Nothing else mattered in that moment but me, the one whom she depended upon to rescue her.  I immediately jumped in the water to scoop her into my arms, pulling her close in a warm embrace. I had saved my baby.

This experience reminds me of how I need to keep my eyes focused on my Savior, Jesus Christ- the only One who can save me. He is the life preserver that grips me from sinking into the struggles of life. When I look around, it is easy to become overwhelmed by my own problems and those around me. There is just so much need. Everywhere I turn, someone is struggling with a relationship issue, financial problem, sickness, or a death in the family. In my small community alone, there’s an abundant need of healing, restoration, even salvation. If I’m not careful, I can be sucked down into the murky waters of self-pity, bitterness, and ingratitude.

For this reason, as I deal with my own tribulations and obstacles, and desire to help those suffering around me, I need to be reminded that by keeping my eyes fixated on Jesus, He will not let me down.   As I practice this, I have less time to dwell on my circumstances and more time to give glory to my Heavenly Father. As I keep Him constantly in my view, He can direct me in the most effective ways of helping those in need around me as well.

My complete dependence has to be on God.  Just as my daughter realized I was her only hope of rescue, I am bombarded with the realization that I too, am completely dependent on the One who lifts me up. Without God’s love, I am nothing.  Without the sacrifice of His Son, I have no hope. He rescues me in more ways than I can count.

Be encouraged that God is there to save you from whatever circumstance befalls you.  Keep faith in Him and don’t let your eyes wander or be distracted from the true source of hope.    Christ will be there to lift you up from the depths of your despair.  Trust Him to do His part, and He definitely will.

Hope this was a blessing to you and has encouraged those who needed to hear this!

Have a great week,

Alisha

 

 

Leave a Reply

