Shaking the Blessing Trees

fullsizerender-4

Happy Thanksgiving Week to you! I hope you are able to spend time with your family and friends and truly reflect on all the blessings in your life.

“Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights…    (James 1:17 NIV)

My arms ached from making long strokes with the paint brush on our front door.  Painting seemed like a never-ending task and I was ready for a break from the hot sun that shone on the porch.  As I was putting up the paint brush, a rustling sound from the trees in the front yard caught my attention, followed by a thump, thump, thump sound.

 

I realized the thumping sound came from nuts falling from the trees and then pounding onto the ground below.  Squirrels high in the tree tops shook branches and limbs, loosening up the bounty harvest of nuts.  On the pine needles below, the ground was covered with a blanket of brown acorns that would later be retrieved by the rodents.

 

How smart those squirrels were!  They worked hard and diligently for the treasure and blessing of the nuts.  And in that moment, I realized that my prayer life is similar to the work of the squirrels.  As I pray, I am asking God to favor me, to let his blessings pour down over me and my family.  My prayers begin by giving God the praise and honor he deserves and it’s almost as if I can picture myself like the squirrels, climbing higher and higher into the trees.  I continue to pray for God’s will, not my own, to be done, and I’m imagining myself creeping carefully onto the tree branches.  I talk to God, pouring out my heart, one burden and request at a time, and I can see those blessings falling down from Heaven like the nuts from the trees.

 

Sometimes the blessings come in the ways I expect them but other times, they are disguised and look very different from what I have anticipated.  Sometimes they are in the form of peace about a prayer request.  Other times, they are a delayed response to what I’ve asked for, which turns out to be a bigger blessing in the process.  And even other times, the answer to my prayer may be “no” but God uses his answer to help me grow or move onto something better He has in store for me and my family.

God chooses to bless me because He is sovereign and in control.  He has a plan for my life and knows what’s best for me.  It’s up to me to climb the trees, shake the branches, and sit back and wait to see how the “blessing nuts” fall.  It’s amazing to be still, take notice, and then gather the treasures up in my heart as I watch how God works in my life.

 

Be diligent in your prayer life and never give up shaking the trees of Heaven for blessings.  God hears you and wants to shower you with an abundance of His perfect gifts.

 

“Heavenly Father, thank you for my relationship with you and all the gifts you have given me.  Help me to appreciate all of my blessings by being observant and walking closely with you.  Guide me in talking to you daily, being persistent in my prayer life.  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.”

Have a wonderful week,

Alisha

 

 

Leave a Reply

