The Best is Yet to Come

November 4, 2016

“…No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined what God has prepared for those who love him.”      1 Corinthians 2:9 NLT                                                                                                                                                                                                                

The air was crisp and my soul was warm.  I strolled around the yard, taking in all of the breathtaking sights I possibly could.  The gentle breeze carried the thick smell of fire wood from my neighbor’s house and the trees were just starting to preview some of their vibrant colors of yellow, red, and orange.  Some of the leaves had already fallen and crunched underneath my brown boots.

Yes, Autumn is my absolute favorite time of year.  There’s just something about it that makes me happy and content.  However, today, some of the leaves on the Elm tree in my front natural area sparked particular interest.  The graceful shaped edges of the green leaves were barely turning red and orange.  Some leaves were even speckled with different hues like a painter’s canvas.  The foliage hadn’t completely changed to its most beautiful, bold color.

“The best is yet to come,” I thought to myself. I knew that in just a matter of a few days, the leaves would fully transform to the prettiest colors of the season. Because I knew what was ahead, I grew even more excited and anticipated the beauty that was just within grasp of my senses.

My experience with nature reminded me that my journey of faith eludes to those same words-

 The best is yet to come

The best is yet to come. Yes, powerful words of promise from our Heavenly Father.

When times are tough, you feel like you’ve had all you can take and the enemy beckons you to give up, remember…the best is yet to come.  Life will not always be this hard and better times are just around the corner.  Don’t you dare give up.  Trust that God is faithful to His promises and that He has something even more magnificent than Autumn’s glorious colors in store for you.

And even in those times when everything is great, all is right with you and the world, don’t forget…the best is yet to come.  There is no job promotion, award, relationship status, or answered prayer than can compare to what’s coming for believers. We cannot even imagine, even in our most creative dreams, what God has prepared for us in Heaven.  So even in the wonderful places of life, give Him honor and praise for all that He has and will give to us in eternity.

No matter what circumstance, valley, or mountain top you find yourself at today, be encouraged to take time to stop and enjoy the scenery of blessings you have been given, for you are promised that the best is yet to come.

“Heavenly Father, thank You for the promises of wonderful, unfathomable things in my future, both on earth and in Heaven.  Help me to live a life of gratitude that continually points others to You. In Jesus’ name, Amen.”

Leave a Reply

